- What happens if you hit a ball in and scratch?
- Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?
- Is ball in hand a real rule?
- Is hitting three walls a scratch in pool?
- What happens if you don’t call your pocket in pool?
- Do pool balls get old?
- What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball in pool?
- Do you lose if you sink the white ball on the break?
- What balls can you hit after a scratch?
- What does an 8 ball stand for?
- Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
- Is it a scratch if you miss all the balls?
- Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
- What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
- Do you lose if you foul on the black?
- Can you combo off an opponent’s ball?
What happens if you hit a ball in and scratch?
A scratch, foul, or illegal shot results in ball-in-hand, where your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table in preparation for the next shot.
The only exception to this is the break (see the 8-ball and 9-ball differences that follow)..
Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?
8 ball-pool Rules A minimum of four balls must hit a cushion otherwise it is a foul break. … The eight-ball must be the last ball potted to win the game. 5. In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots).
Is ball in hand a real rule?
3.40 CUE BALL IN HAND FOUL During cue ball in hand placement, the player may use his hand or any part of his cue (including the tip) to position the cue ball. When placing the cue ball in position, any forward stroke motion of the cue stick contacting the cue ball will be considered a foul if not a legal shot.
Is hitting three walls a scratch in pool?
If your opponent fouls in any way whilst still on their colours, you have ball in hand and can put the cue ball anywhere behind the break line. … I only know APA rules, but 3 rails and not touching any balls is a foul. Also, hitting your ball first then not touching a rail or not pocketing a ball is a foul.
What happens if you don’t call your pocket in pool?
If you pot a ball that you did not call (called “slopping”), official rules say to leave the ball in the pocket. However, many people prefer to return the slopped ball to the footspot. One way or another, your turn is forfeited to the next player.
Do pool balls get old?
after about a year of use to a size that is no longer considered to meet specifications. The cue ball will degrade faster due to constantly being struck by cue tips. However, if your pool table isn’t subjected to much use, then your balls can last well over a year.
What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball in pool?
Did you accidentally make one of your opponent’s balls in and you’re wondering what happens next? The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.
Do you lose if you sink the white ball on the break?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
What balls can you hit after a scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
What does an 8 ball stand for?
An 8 ball is one eighth of an ounce of a drug (usually cocaine). It can also refer to a mix of crack-cocaine and heroin as well as the malt-liquor brand Olde English 800. Sometimes, it can act as a derogatory term for a black person.
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.
Is it a scratch if you miss all the balls?
Even if you successfully pocket an object ball, you scratch if the cue ball drops into any pocket and you lose your turn. The rules also note that if a pocket is full of balls and the cue ball touches one of the pocketed balls, it is a scratch.
Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
PLAYING THE 8-BALL. When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.
What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.
Do you lose if you foul on the black?
In 8-Ball Pool, when you are on the black ball, if you foul (eg. don’t hit the black ball), the other player doesn’t get 2 shots because they are on the black ball. What stops both the players from just tapping the ball every time? They are not at a loss if they do, because the other player only gets 1 shot.
Can you combo off an opponent’s ball?
Yes, you can, and any ball(s) made with such a shot stays down. … the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.