Quick Answer: When You Scratch In Pool Where Do You Put The Ball?

Do you take a ball out when you scratch in pool?

5.

A scratch, foul, or illegal shot results in ball-in-hand, where your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table in preparation for the next shot.

The only exception to this is the break (see the 8-ball and 9-ball differences that follow)..

What happens if you scratch in 8ball?

In 8-ball, if you’re trying to pocket the 8 ball, it’s loss of game. If you pocket an object ball and scratch, you lose your turn but the object ball you pocketed stays in, so scratching becomes part of the game strategy since usually a pocketed object ball is worth loss of turn.

Is it a scratch if you don’t hit your ball first?

When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket.

Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?

You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.

What happens if you don’t hit any ball in pool?

3. If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand.

What happens if you scratch on the break in Pool?

7. SCRATCH ON A LEGAL BREAK. If a player scratches on a legal break shot, (1) all balls pocketed remain pocketed (exception, the 8-ball: see rule 9), (2) it is a foul, (3) the table is open.

Do you have to call the pocket in 8 ball?

Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. That means you have to choose the pocket where you’re shooting before taking your shot. If a ball goes into a pocket, but it isn’t the called pocket, that would be the definition of slop. The way you choose your ball group is fairly simple.

What are the rules when you scratch in pool?

3.20 CUE BALL SCRATCH It is a foul (scratch) if on a stroke, the cue ball is pocketed. If the cue ball touches an object ball that was already pocketed (for example, in a pocket full of object balls), the shot is a foul.

Is it a scratch if you miss all the balls?

Even if you successfully pocket an object ball, you scratch if the cue ball drops into any pocket and you lose your turn. The rules also note that if a pocket is full of balls and the cue ball touches one of the pocketed balls, it is a scratch.

Does scratching on the 8 ball mean you lose?

When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.

Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?

Imagine my black over hole being covered with opponent’s ball and I have ball in hand. I must call opponent’s ball to pot black for win as unable to hit black directly with white. 8-ball made on an illegal shot: As player 1 has called 8-ball and the pocket, he cannot make contact with any other ball first.