- Do you lose if you sink the white ball on the black?
- Do you have to call the pocket in 8 ball?
- What happens if the 8 ball goes off the table?
- Why does cue ball jump off table on break?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- Can you hit the white ball backwards?
- Where does the cue ball go when you scratch?
- What happens if you foul on the black?
- What happens if the black ball goes off the table?
- Can you hit the black on a free table?
- Does the black ball go on the dot?
- Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
- What happens if you pocket the white ball?
- What happens in pool if a ball leaves the table?
Do you lose if you sink the white ball on the black?
In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching.
If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black.
This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game..
Do you have to call the pocket in 8 ball?
Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. That means you have to choose the pocket where you’re shooting before taking your shot. If a ball goes into a pocket, but it isn’t the called pocket, that would be the definition of slop. The way you choose your ball group is fairly simple.
What happens if the 8 ball goes off the table?
If the player knocks the 8 ball off the table then the player loses the game. If the player pockets the 8 ball and commits a foul or pockets it into another pocket than the one designated, then the player loses the game.
Why does cue ball jump off table on break?
This is officially called ball hop. No matter how level you try to keep a cuestick when playing, the table rails force a slight downward angle. This causes the cueball to jump into the air slightly whenever you strike it hard–especially when breaking, because this is the most powerful stroke in the game.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
Imagine my black over hole being covered with opponent’s ball and I have ball in hand. I must call opponent’s ball to pot black for win as unable to hit black directly with white. 8-ball made on an illegal shot: As player 1 has called 8-ball and the pocket, he cannot make contact with any other ball first.
Can you hit the white ball backwards?
World rules stipulate that white ball potted of the break is one shot open table and your allowed too shoot backwards. As long as the white ball relain a behind the baulk line.
Where does the cue ball go when you scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
What happens if you foul on the black?
Re: Foul on the black and that simply means that if the difference in score is less than 7 points with only the Black on the table, the ACTUAL score no longer matters; the winner of the frame is determined by the next pot (the potter wins) or the next foul OF ANY KIND (the fouler loses).
What happens if the black ball goes off the table?
If your cue ball goes off the table during game play, then it is a foul and your opponent gets to place the cue ball anywhere behind the Foot Spot. This is usually how it’s played for bar rules.
Can you hit the black on a free table?
Following a foul the table is declared ‘open’ and the oncoming player takes a ‘free’ shot. In doing so it is permissible to play onto any object ball. Any ball may be potted, including the black if it is ‘on’.
Does the black ball go on the dot?
WEPF World Rules The balls are racked with the black (the 8 ball) on the foot spot (or “black spot”), in contrast with US-style eight-ball, nine-ball and most other pool games, in which the apex ball is placed on the foot spot. … If no balls were potted on the break, the table remains open.
Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
PLAYING THE 8-BALL. When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.
What happens if you pocket the white ball?
When the Cue Ball, that is, the white ball is pocketed, generally inadvertently, it is called a “scratch” or “table scratch” and is considered a foul.
What happens in pool if a ball leaves the table?
In all pocket billiard games, when a stroke results in the cue ball or any object ball being a jumped ball off the table, the stroke is a foul.